Final conclusions

Standard

Well, here it is. The last day of the month and the official (or unofficial?) NaBloPoMo conclusion day. I do have to say I learned a lot about my writing, creativity, dedication and interest in writing. Although I didn’t write every day like we were “supposed to,” the writing or non-writing of this blog had me thinking about why I wrote or didn’t write in the first place. I will say that I’ll continue to do my best to write daily, but I learned that writing daily really didn’t get me more hits or reads of this blog as I had intended.

As a plus, this month I did get myself involved in a couple of blogging groups, which I don’t think I would have done otherwise. I created a Facebook page for my Mama Bird Blog and also a separate Twitter account. I was pleasantly surprised to see so many followers on my new Twitter account in such a short time. Finding others thru those folks also widened my audience and increased ways for me to get out there to learn more about mom bloggers and blogging in general.

I still haven’t figured out how I want to focus this blog. I guess I already have a focus: myself and my daughter. But I have to be honest with myself–my life is not that spectacular that people would keep returning to read about my day. I have read so many blogs over the past month and tried to find myself in them, or even writing them. I just can’t find a particular ongoing passion (as I’m passionate about many things) and tend to write when the passion hits on any particular subject.

What I do know is that I tend to be quite different in my thinking than a lot of moms, or people, I should say. When 99% of the population agrees on something, there’s me on the other end creeping in a corner so I don’t get screamed at or looked at like I’m the anti-Christ. With that being said, I know there needs to be a voice for people like me/us, but in all honesty I have a thin skin. I wish I had  thicker skin, but I do care about what people think of me. I don’t want to be labeled as a particular person because of one particular view. So, I could make a mark, but at what cost?

I haven’t found any blogs like I would like to write, probably because I haven’t found a ton of people that think like me. I’m not trying to be egotistical or elitist in any way, but as I thinking about my life since I was a teenager, I see now why I was left so confused at times. I’ve held my tongue most of my l ife because I want to fit in, but part of me just wants to yell from the rooftops “WHAT ARE YOU THINKING??”

I will give a quick example of a topic I heard on The Talk this afternoon (the new all women talk show started by Sharon Osbourne). The topic was “co-sleeping.” I first found it quite odd that many in the audience had not even heard of this term. I guess if I wasn’t a mom maybe I wouldn’t know, but in my opinion, you’d have to be living under a rock not to have heard about this. Basically, the panel was  on one side of the other. As Julie Chen said: “Who in the audience thinks co-sleeping is WRONG and who thinks it’s RIGHT?” Caps are there for a reason. Right and wrong? I have so many issues here. Although I appreciate Attachment Parenting and co-sleeping, our family doesn’t subscribe to it entirely. But do I think it’s WRONG? NO! Everyone has a right to do what they feel is right in their own home and for their family. For me, it’s just like religion: feel free to do what you want in your free time, but don’t push it on me. That doesn’t mean you can’t talk about it, but I’d rather have an adult conversation about something rather than someone pointing at me saying that I’m corrupting my child because I don’t let her sleep in the bed with us!

I like the fact that they talked about it on the show and even gave some stats, but right and wrong?

My daughter just turned 16 months yesterday and what I’ve learned as a parent over this time is that we ALL do things differently. Why? BECAUSE EACH CHILD IS DIFFERENT! I have two friends that subscribe to total Attachment Parenting and it worked for them, then there’s me and others that don’t and it works fabulous for us. I don’t believe anyone is “right or wrong” in this situation, it’s really what is right for that family. So, if a kid takes longer to sleep by themselves because the co-slept for 2+ years, then that is on the family. Let them deal with it. And, it’s highly possible it won’t be an issue anyway.

And, one last point as this is my blog and this annoyed me.. for someone as intelligent as Julie Chen is, it surprised and embarrassed me to think that one of her reasons for not co-sleeping with her child is that she would roll over onto her baby and smother them. Really? There are so many devices like this one that give you more freedom and peace of mind, that shouldn’t even be an issue. I found her reasoning a cop-out and I felt embarrassed for her. This is TV in the end, and maybe she was saying what she thought other parents would think, but come on. She lost points for me there.

As you can see, I am passionate about a few things and there are things I feel comfortable talking about, but some of the major issues that have come up in the media lately (parent or non-parent related) are just tough to talk about, especially with my views. I guess the next time something critical comes up in the media I’ll try to find a story or blog that has my views to see if I could write such a thing. I guess that is my next task.

So there’s my blogging month training program in a nutshell. I learned a lot, thought a lot, got creative, got in action, joined a few groups and feel on my way. I still have a long way to go and I think next year I’ll be looking for a blog/writing mentor, but at least I have some outlets now to find such a person. I feel good about it and it seems like a lot of fun 🙂 Maybe one day you’ll see me on one of these talk shows.. AND saying what I really want to say to the world without being ashamed or embarrassed.

Here’s to blogging in 2011!!!

What do you all think about what I wrote? Would love to hear everyone’s thoughts!

About Kathy G

I’m simple, yet complicated. Music is the Soundtrack of my life. I'm always looking for the next best thing and stuff that I haven't heard. I consider myself: Cool, intense, passionate, love people until they piss me off--then love them again. I'm dedicated, honest and one of the best friends you can have (or I do my best to be). Tap dancing is my newest passion. I love my soulmate and husband, Joe, with everything I am. My dreams? This seems to change from month to month, but I'd like to be the following: A Solid Gold Dancer, Contestant on The Gong Show, Madonna for a day, Dance all night at Studio54 in 1978, Travel around with Motley Crue in 1986, Open a kick ass dance club in NYC, Produce an album at Paisley Park, Cause world peace to be possible, be a millionaire so I can give away a lot of money to causes that need it, and win a Grammy. But most of all, I would like to feel at peace and make a profound difference in the world doing something I love.

2 responses »

  1. Blogging more than anything is about the journey, not the destination.

    Realize though that some people are better at dialogue than monologue. If this is the case for you, don’t shy away from link blogging. If you find an article that you find interesting, post it. You might not have a specific comment about it at the moment, but posting it might lead to reader comments that initiate a conversation.

    When you look at most successful bloggers, they’ve developed the habit of posting content. Not every entry is profound, but they’ve developed their skill and point of view through repetition and trial & error.

    And leave the comments wide open. You need it to build trust and community. Negative comments will come… it’s the internet.

    You don’t get thick skin by avoiding the elements, but don’t sweat it. Thick or thin, there are many ways to skin a Kat.

  2. Excellent as always. I for one think you should feel free to say what you feel and what you believe and not feel ashamed or embarrassed. You are totally entitled to share your opinion and your outlook on life. This is YOUR blog and you are a very intersting and good writer! If your opinion differs from 99% of the population it still counts and maybe it counts more because we all need to understand that we don’t always agree nor should we. Trust me, I’m often on the opposite end of the spectrum on issues too. Try being an ultra liberal in a community of ultra conservatives!

    It seems we are both strugging on the direction of our blogs. Perhaps being random is the way to be without a specific focus. I love to hear your thoughts and experiences so keep it up.

Leave a Reply

